Friday, November 14, 2008

Lord Krishna/Kaliya
Patala-Loka The Serpentine Demon World
Rahu and Ketu are also known as the Chahaya Grahas (shadowy planets). It is the name given to the nodes of the moon. Rahu represents the North Node and Ketu, the South Node. According to Hindu Mythology these planets represents the Serpent. They represent the darker side of our nature which we need to overcome.Their role as Karmic indicators of our life is connected with their power to cause eclipses. There are many Myths and legends attached to Rahu Ketu. The most well known one is of Rahu Ketu as the Naga Vasuki- the ruler of the Patala Loka (the nether regions of the earth). The soul's journey in a particular life time and it's connection with eternal life is indicated by the position of Rahu and Ketu. Ketu deals with the past Karma and Rahu with the future.
Rahu is the head part of the celestial snake. This hymn refers to Rahu being snake shaped. The snakes are given great importance in Vedic mythology. Lord Shiva has a snake around his neck, Lord Vishnu's throne was Shesh Naga - the Eternal Serpent. Shesh Naga represents the cycles of time and space which the seed of cosmic creation. The Nagas are shaped like snakes but stand tall. The Nagas are highly evolved beings. They are wise, but their wisdom can be used for both good and bad. The Naga sheds his skin, this symbolises transformation,re-birth. The snakes in Vedic literature remind people of their mortality.
Naga or Sarpa is Serpentine Energy in Kundalini Tantra Yoga

The nagas are an ancient race of semi divine serpent creatures beings first depicted in ancient Vedic Hindu mythology and oral folklore from at least 6000 B.C. Stories involving the Nagas are omnipresent in Hindu and Buddhist mythology and still very much a part of contemporary cultural traditions in predominantly Hindu (India, Nepal, and the island of Bali) and Buddhist (Cambodia,Thailand,Sri-Lanka and South-East Asia) regions of Asia. The Chinese Dragon, or Lung(Loong) , symbolizes power and excellence, valiancy and boldness, heroism and perseverance, nobility and divinity.
In Hindu myth, nagas are a primeval race of divine serpent-people that play an important part in religion. They are half human and half snake, and are still worshipped as the bringers of fertility, especially in India. Nagas are believed to live in palaces (Patala) Loka in the underground city Bhogavati. They are considered the protectors of springs, wells and rivers. They bring rain, and thus fertility, but are also thought to bring disasters such as floods and drought. Their ruler is Sesha. Some of the nagas are: Ananta (symbol of eternity), Vasuki, Manasa (fertility goddess and protector against snake-bites), and Mucilinda. The word Naga comes from the Sanskrit (नाग) , and nag is still the word for snake, especially the cobra, in most of the languages of India. Female Nagas are called Nagis or Naginis. In the East Hindu and Buddhist pantheon it is connected with the Serpent Spirit and the Dragon Spirit. In India and Asia, a naga represents is a mythical serpent or dragon, a serpent-god, a ruler of the netherworld who possesses immense wealth.
Originally, Nagas came to Cambodia from India, together with Hindu religion, philosophy, legends and architecture. Naga cult is still part of Indian culture, and has even found its way into the Muslim communities in Kashmir. In Thailand, the Naga is usually depicted as a large crested serpent. However, at Angkor, the Naga loses its crest in favor of a more ominous multi-headed appearance reminiscent of the Hydra from Greek mythology. When visiting Angkor, the outer gates are flanked by seven-headed Naga serpents leading to the central temple complex.
The Seven-Headed Naga serpents depicted as statues on Cambodian temples apparently represent the 7 races within Naga society, which has a symbolic association with "the seven colours of the rainbow". Cambodian Nagas also possess numerological symbolism in the number of their heads. Odd-headed Naga symbolise male energy, infinity, timelessness, and immortality. This is because, numerologically, all odd numbers come from One. Even-headed Nagas are said to be female, representing physicality, mortality, temporality, and the earth.

No comments:

About Me

Freelance Tutor,Vedic Astrology Consultant,Planetary Gemology Advisor.